Personal Accounts Software: Acemoney

I have been using AceMoney for keeping my home accounts and my business accounts for the past few months. I’m going to write about my limited experiences with this software.

I did think about trying more ambitious software to do this, but I shyed away from MSN Money and Quickbooks. I’ve tried a bunch of other stuff, too, but the Accounting side didn’t appeal to me so much. My personal life and my business aren’t so complicated that AceMoney would pose problems. My business accounts are handled formally by the accountant, but I keep a track of things, most importantly, cash flow, and cash positions using this software.

I originally bought the license ages ago for AceMoney, it appealed to me because of its simplicity and flexibility. So I tried it. Since I don’t have a good accounting background, I was initially confused by it, but then I began to see how it was similar to what I had been doing with Excel anyway.

It is easy to set up numerous accounts, types of accounts and transactions. It is able to import and export data easily, a big plus in my book, should I ever decide to migrate to something more formal. I like the export in QIF format.

It also can handle stock transactions, credit cards and so on. It can handle a bunch of stuff that I throw at it, including Forex transactions.

Is it suitable for you? I can’t tell you. Is it useful for you? More than likely, as it can help you transition from Excel or paper systems to a more formal system.

Kenneth

prognostications of journalists + tax brakes?

reposted from my other blog!

prognostications of journalists + tax brakes?

Does anyone think that it’s a good idea to follow the prognostications of journalists and their interpretations of what’s going on in the U.S. Economy? I sold my Dow stocks yesterday. I doubt we’ll see a new high point this year. This is a secular bear market (see a real economist: www.frontlinethoughts.com I think his grip on the market is excellent, and well argued.

Not the Rah-Rah-Rah stuff of most journalists such as this geezer. “This is tremendous news. It should kick the Dow to 13,000 during the next 12 months … if Bernanke doesn’t get too carried away … a 6% Fed funds rate WOULD throw the market into reverse. The more important barometer, the S&P index, now hovering at 1325, might make a new high during the next 12 months, too. (The S&P’s all-time high is 1527, reached in March, 2000.)”

Tax breaks might help in the short term to create a new high, but I doubt that they will make much difference in the longer term. You might call it the sign of a frothy top of the market. The ‘Big Players’ are getting tax breaks so they can push up the market, sell, pay less tax than the average Joe, and get out.

Then they will wait as smaller investors who read stuff like this report buy thinking the tax breaks are for THEM. Call me skeptical. Hah! The ‘Big Players’ bought because stocks were cheap, they have made their $$$. You don’t buy stocks just to get a tax break, do you? So I think we can call this the top of the market for a while!

Kenneth

Rookie: About to get rooked?

I am a rookie investor who doesn’t know much about stocks, etc. I want to invest a small amount, maybe 3000 USD (100,000 NT) or so. I am willing to take medium risk, but don’t have much time to research or deal with this investment everyday. I just want to put it somewhere for like half a year or a year, forget about it, and come back and hopefully it’ll make some money for me.
So now the questions are:
1) Are mutual funds the best choice in this scenario? If not, what do you suggest?
2) What are the chances of losing money with a fund?
3) I realize that there are many types of funds. Which type is suitable for me? I don’t want to be super conservative, I am willing to take some risk. But of course I don’t want to lose money. Is there a fund that generates over 30% in one year, that’s got acceptable risk levels? I understand you can never know…but what about your past experiences? What’s the most you’ve made or lost in a 1 year period with funds?

I wrote

Truthfully, Tycoon’s advice is pretty good. 

Don’t waste your time in MFs… The expense ratios will KILL your investment over the short-term. The medium term isn’t much better due to a tendency to average performance. So, only in the longer term, there’s a chance that your MF will be okay. But remember about 80% of MF underperform the market…! Hah!

Upfront charges will likely eat into your funds, leaving you underwater almost immediately. Anyway, many MFs have minimum amounts to invest, typically $2500-5000.

#1 Why not just simply open a broker account with $7 to $10 trades, choose a few ‘safe’ ETFs (maximum three, to keep your costs under control), your expense ratio would be about 1% for purchase, and hopefully less than 1% for sale.

#2 Then do some basic research here http://finance.yahoo.com/etf

#3 Then purchase a couple of broader market funds, like DIA or QQQQ or Spiders, then one with the exposure you want.

Do NOT trade this account. Only add money regularly to make sure that the balance is appropriate. Ignore it otherwise.

#4 Then start reading. It is really boring, there are no guarantees, but it will limit your cost structure.

Lastly, beware the risk of currency exchange, you may not want to exchange all your money at one time, but trickle feed it into the fund, so that any improvement in the exchange rate will be reflected in your exchange at least partly!

Good luck, don’t forget the reading!

Kenneth